Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
2010 - The Adventure Begins
5 mai 2007

My feature list

When looking at a catamaran I'm looking for the following features. Basically this list helps me eliminate catamarans that won't measure up to the kind of sailing I want to do.

1. Size: 38 – 44 feet in length.
2. 360 degrees visibility of the outside when seated inside.
3. A high bridgedeck clearance of 6% of LWL.
4. Good sailing performance, particularly in light airs.
5. Outside helm protected from the elements (should be inside the cockpit).
6. 30 hp engines.
6. Easy access to engine compartments from inside with ample space to work on them in all directions.
7. A comfortable cockpit with good area to sit around a table.
9. Easy to sail singlehanded.
8. A good targa for solar panels, radar, GPS and dingy davits.
9. Deep anchor locker.
10. 2 heads with short and direct runs.
11. A good galley up, unless it has an amazing galley down.

Armed with this list I've had a look at a ton of catamaran designs: Admiral, African Cats, Atlantic 42, Broadblue, Catana, Dean, Fountaine Pajot, Gunboat, Lagoon, Leopard, Manta, Maine Cat, Outremer, PDQ, Privilege, Seawind, St. Francis, Voyage. I'll soon post again with how the different designs did on my list and which I'm interested in test sailing (and maybe buying).

Publicité
Commentaires
K
I'm very interested in your findings since I'm looking for the similar cat for a world cruising including the high altitudes.
2010 - The Adventure Begins
  • In 2010 I'll set sail on a circumnavigation. This is the blog where I do all my preparations. It'll be a memoir of my dreams, hopes and aspirations and when I set sail it will turn into a traveling journal.
  • Accueil du blog
  • Créer un blog avec CanalBlog
Publicité
Publicité